Letting Go of Someone

The idea of letting someone go because you care about them has been a foreign idea to me..something I could never have understood, until now. Sometimes the best thing to do for someone and for your own well being is to let that person go. By “letting someone go”, I mean ceasing contact with them for some time..maybe forever. Once they are not in your life, you will be able to feel the impact they had on you. You will be able to see the situation in a new light. This may take a long, long time. This is what I struggle with: waiting. When I know that I have to wait for something to happen, or not happen.. I get anxious, because life is unpredictable, and I always think to myself, “Why not now???”. But “now” is not always the answer. In this case, staying present in the now is vitally important so that you don’t feel as though you’re waiting. Something also important to realize is that you can’t force an epiphany about a situation..you can’t force growth, or understanding, or feeling a different way about something, because that old feeling will always be there until you acknowledge it fully. And when you acknowledge it fully, then will there be room for understanding and maturity. But it takes time. It takes time. All you can do is focus on right now, and accept what you can’t change. Accept it, and let go.

Leave a Reply

