Life right now (veganism and workout goals)

It’s been a while!! I started college in September and have been adjusting to life here! Here are some of my experiences and tips:

Push yourself to start healthy habits. The first month is the hardest because it is all overwhelming and you’ve become responsible for a lot in a short amount of time. Remember the importance of your health on your life in the long term. Exercising  and eating the right foods can also be a major help with de-stressing! I usually start my workout with a run around the outdoor track or on the treadmill for however long I can (usually 10 minutes at least) then I do strength training either in the gym or outside on a grassy field. I’ve been doing squats, lunges, planks, side planks, burpees, jumping jacks, and mountain climbers. I’ll do 10 of each (on each side) then repeat. Although this was a great workout, I really wanted a workout plan that focused on different parts of the body each day, so I found a YouTube video that really helped me create my own plan. I want to focus on toning my body, so in that case the video recommended doing 8-11 reps of each exercise and 3-4 sets of those reps, with a 1-2 minute rest between sets. So for example, I would do 10 squats, wait 1 minute, then repeat 2 or 3 more times. During that 1 minute I could do another workout just to keep moving.

Legs and butt workouts: Squats, lunges, bridge raises, weighted steps, stairs, 30 sec. jog- 30 sec. sprint 

Chest & biceps: push-ups, weighted chest fly, weighted bicep curls, walking plank

Back & triceps: Burpees, weighted deadlift, bent over row, single arm row, pull ups, tricep dips

Shoulder & core: steady run, weighted shoulder press, weighted clean & press, hill climbers, Russian twists, side crunches, plank, side plank

I still don’t know how to do all of these workouts are, but I’ll eventually become more of an expert 🙂
I’ve been fully vegan since July? I think? Anyways, I’m definitely never going back. It’s easy to see how people could try veganism out then go back to meat and dairy. They probably jump into it instead of slowly adjusting to the lifestyle. I gave up meat in April before giving up eggs (I already avoided dairy because it upset my stomach). Another reason why someone could “fail” at veganism could be lack of research on it. If you don’t have a solid opinion, it’s hard to be passionate about something. Reading Starch Solution educated me about the health benefits of veganism, more specifically high carb, low fat veganism, and watching videos and seeing pictures of animal cruelty in factory farms reinforced my passion against eating these animals and contributing to their suffering. Another great idea for anyone new to veganism is to watch YouTube videos, mainly “what I eat in a day” ones, to get an idea of the amount you should be eating to get enough calories into your diet. The amount of grains, fruits, and vegetables you should eat will probably seem abnormal at first, but it takes a lot more of these foods than you’re used to to satiate hunger. Plus these youtubers have created such a positive community of vegans to return to every day whenever I feel isolated.

Another tip is to experiment, and don’t be discouraged! Listen to your body. If you don’t eat enough carbs, you will crave unhealthy, fatty foods.  Personally, I eat a low fat diet because it cleared my skin of acne. 

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

